My youngest daughter is my fave 8 year old in the world! When she was a baby she didn't sleep (and I mean that litterally) so I guess we got closer by all those nights when it was just her and I. It wasnt untill she was three and I got sick from being exhausted, that the Dr. believed me. From a very young age, we knew there was something else different about her. She didn't talk, connect with people, and it seemed that she couldn't hear anything except sharp noises. To get her attention, we had to blow a high pitched whistle. The Dr. was sure at this point that she was deaf. While we didn't think this was it, we went along with all of the testing, just to show that she had perfect hearing. She was sent to a developmental pediatrician, who immediatly knew what was going on. She put her on some meds and got her enrolled into a special ed preschool. Every day since then is amazing to us the progress she makes. She is now the most loving, fun filled, 8 year old. Yes, she still has trials, and some days are better than others, but I wouldn't trade her for the world! Oh yeah, she was diagnosed with NOS-PDD. This is a fancy was of saying that she is delayed, but noone knows shy (got to love Dr.s and diagnosis) Her school is reevaluating her this year to see what they cah figure out, I will befinately keep you updated.



Leave a Reply.